DUI Vs. DWI
What’s the difference between DUI and DWI?
While most states use the terms DUI and DWI to refer to the same type of charges, in Texas, they are two distinct terms. Driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Texas are determined by the age of the driver involved in the charge.
DUI in Texas: Zero Tolerance
Any person who is under the legal drinking age
DUI Penalties in Texas
Those who are under the age of 21 will face a Class C misdemeanor charge for a DUI. A first-time offender will face the suspension of their driving rights for a period of time between 60 and 180 days. The length of time is determined by whether the driver submitted to a chemical test and whether they passed the chemical test. If this is not a first-time offense, the driver will lose their license for 180 days to two years depending on when the last offense occurred. Drivers may also have to pay a fine of upwards of $500 plus pay to have their license reinstated.
DWI Charges in Texas
DUIs and DWIs Remain on Your Record
Texas used to look back 10 years when you were charged with a DWI or a DUI. While the registry may look back only 10 years when determining the length of time your license is suspended, criminal courts will look at your entire driving history, including out-of-state DWI convictions.
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is prohibited by law in all states as there is evidence that your ability to drive safely is impaired. Any person who